InterLab Virtual Workshop, Fall 2018

The InterLab Virtual Workshop, Fall 2018, is a series of presentations and panel discussions by web and communication professionals from across the DOE laboratory system (see details below). The session will run from 1-4 EST, 12-3 CST, 11-2 MST, 10-1 PST on Thursday, November 29.

InterLab is a group of web designers, web application developers, online communications professionals, and managers of internet resources working throughout the United States Department of Energy laboratory complex and related federal research institutions. Since 1994, InterLab workshops have provided valuable opportunities for DOE web professionals to learn, share, and collaborate.

Thursday, November 29

Transforming internal web development at Sandia  (1:00 – 1:30 EST, 12:00 – 12:30 CST, 11:00 – 11:30 MST, 10:00 – 10:30 PST) 

It started as an effort to reduce the number of technologies being supported and enable Sandia’s corporate web team with a faster, easier method to stand up internal websites, and ended FY18 with the ability for users to create new internal websites on their own when using the WordPress platform. When customers complete and submit a simple site-creation form, their new website is created automatically so they can start adding content to the site immediately, or wait for the WordPress team’s assistance. Join the Sandia web team as they describe the Agile process they followed to develop this new, streamlined service and incorporate many continuous integration/deployment practices along the way.

Brookhaven intranet redesign  (1:40 – 2:10 EST, 12:40 – 1:10 CST, 11:40 – 12:10 MST, 10:40 – 11:10 PST)

Until 2017, the intranet homepage of Brookhaven National Laboratory had not been substantially redesigned since 2004. In the intervening 13 years, ideas about web design, content strategy, information architecture, and the function of an employee intranet changed dramatically. Our redesign project addressed the need for an intranet that better served Lab employees as an information resource that made their daily work lives a little easier. The final output of the project was an intranet home page that supported employee productivity, reduced time spent searching for online tools and resources, and that is regarded by employees as valuable. The project took a data-driven approach to design in which the paramount idea was that the designer cannot represent the viewpoints of all likely users by making decisions in the abstract. Solid, effective design relies on data. In this project, that data took the form of site analytics, user surveys, user interviews, and card sorting exercises. Each of these sources were used to inform our redesign. This talk will review how this data was collected and analyzed to arrive at a final product.

Best practices for social media at the lab  (2:20 – 3:05 EST, 1:20 – 2:05 CST, 12:20 – 1:05 MST, 11:20 – 12:05 PST) 

Social media is a powerful and effective tool to communicate science and research. Learn some of the dos and don’ts from the social media leads at BNL, Sandia, NREL and ORNL.

Internal collaboration/social media tools panel discussion  (3:15 – 4:00 EST, 2:15 – 3:00 CST, 1:15 – 2:00 MST, 12:15 – 1:00 PST)

It’s easy to find advice on how to use public social media—such as Facebook, LinkedIn, and Twitter—to promote your lab to our various stakeholders. However, many of us also have questions about using social and collaboration tools for internal purposes, especially with the trend toward more geographically dispersed teams, staff telecommuting, and ad-hoc collaborations. This panel from LLNL, Sandia, and SLAC will discuss how these labs approach internal social and collaboration tools to better connect workers digitally.